Ross Wheelers

I was taking a bus ride in Bournemouth when I noticed that the guy sitting next to me had the book In search of Robert Millar in his bag. We got talking and he said that as a young man he lived in Northolt and was a member of the Ross Wheelers.

I said that as a young cyclist in the late fifties I had read, in Cycling & Mopeds, of a good tester John Finch who was a member of the Ross Wheelers. My new acquaintance said he was his older brother! Remarkably despite being able to recall something I read over fifty years ago I can’t remember my fellow passenger’s christian name but it may have been David!

4 Comments »

  1. Well we do live in a wonderful but small cycling world don’t.

    Most of us are aware of the six degrees of separation but I think green Jersey must be the hub of that six degrees, and if you know Green Jersey you now know every one in less than six degrees of separation.

    Then again if it wasn’t for Robert Millar you would have had a quite bus trip.

  2. brian lawrence said

    Hello
    Interresting I was a member of The Ross Wheelers based in Sandycombe road Richmond on Thames And had many a training ride with both Johhny and his younger brother Dave also Mike and Ted Shea Good old days !!!

    • Angela Shea said

      Hello I’m Ted Shea’s daughter and Mike Shea’s niece. Unfortunately Dad died in 2009 but Mike is living in Farnborough. I remember the Ross Wheelers well, presenting bouquets to the President’s wife at the annual dinner and dance and marshalling/timekeeping at races.

  3. Angela Shea said

    Yes John Finch’s older brother is Dave, he lives on the IOW. John was dad’s (Ted Shea) tandem partner and now lives in Dorset with his wife Mary. They’ve recently returned from living in USA for about 30 years.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

