More about Shimano wheels

First a big cheer for Rayment Cycles of Brighton who had a spoke and nipple for my Shimano RS10 back wheel in stock. Naturally things weren’t simple as despite the wheel being brand new my spokes had been superseded by a later design. The new spoke is 2mm longer and the nipple is 2mm shorter. So what, you may say, well it means you have to buy a new nipple to which you may say BIG DEAL! Well to me TWO QUID for a spoke nipple is a big deal on top of THREE QUID for the spoke.

I have fitted the spoke and the wheel is more or less straight. We will see how long this happy state of affairs lasts. I plan to notify Ribble Cycles that if another spoke breaks I will want my money back. I suspect that I will not have to wait too long.

1 Comment »

  1. Grumpy Bob said

    You have my sympathy…I lost a chainring bolt from a Record UT chainset at the weekend – replacement cost £11.99.

    R

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

